Homemade Baklava

My first experience with baklava was at a Greek Festival when I was in college. There was Greek music, dancing, delicious Greek salads, spanakopita, pastries…and baklava sundaes. Yes, you read that right: they served vanilla ice cream drizzled with fudge sauce and then sprinkled baklava shards all over the top. Mmmmm…

For years, that remained my only experience with baklava. I’d heard phyllo dough was impossible to work with, so despite the fact that I’m a DIY kind of girl in the kitchen, I never attempted to make my own baklava. But boy, did a baklava sundae sound good!

I sat down and did some research, and gathered some tips on how to handle phyllo dough so that it is easier to work with. I decided to give homemade baklava a try – and I’m not sorry I did! Eaten on its own, the crunchy nuts and the spices and the deliciously flaky layers of phyllo are totally delectable. But, of course, I had to make a sundae! And that was just as good as I remember.

Check out my baklava recipe on Martin’s Supermarkets blog here.

baklava

~Katie

About Cooking for the Fam

Katie and Theresa are sisters-in-law who are passionate about food, passionate about family, and passionate about making and sharing food with their families. The Fam needs to eat. Make it good!
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, party food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Baklava

Leave a Reply

